CAEAA logo

 


     Updated September 19, 2014

Full Court Press to Save Adult Education Underway, Share Your Efforts and Progress Today!

As the Legislature works to wrap up its 2014 session, we are well in the midst of our full court press to impact the Governor's January budget proposal to ensure it is workable and protects K-12 adult schools. As part of that effort, we have taken on a number of efforts at the state level and have provided a host of activities for you to undertake at the local level. In this regard, however, we do not have a good sense of the level of engagement and completion of activities at the local level (i.e. NASCAR letters).  It would be helpful for us at the state level to receive an update from the field on the status of your efforts. Read more...


Call to Action—Affecting January's Budget Proposal

As you certainly have heard, we are hitting the ground running this month in an effort to affect the Governor's January budget proposal in support of K-12 adult education.  In our assessment, it is absolutely critical that the Administration and Department of Finance get the January proposal right by providing dedicated funding and stability for K-12 school districts to maintain their current adult education programs and look to opportunities to expand and re/establish programs and services for the adults most in need in our state.  The timing is critical in that school districts will be moving to finalize their budgets shortly after the January budget proposal is released and looking toward the March 15th layoff notice deadline and what may need to be done without clear direction and stability being provided to them for K-12 based adult schools.  It is for this reason that our focus is ultimately on the Administration and Department of Finance to ensure they "get it right" in their January proposal.  The Legislature plays a key role as well in helping place pressure, but it is ultimately the Administration and Department of Finance who will have the say in their January proposal.  Pressure must be applied from all angles to affect the details and ensure it provides stability for the K-12 adult education system.   

In this regard, we have prepared a host of materials for use by the field at the local level including talking points, a myths vs. facts white paper, timeline overview, sample coalition ("NASCAR") letter, and more.  Further, we will be hosting our first webinar this week in an effort to ensure that the field is updated on the current state of affairs in Sacramento, the efforts we are pursuing at the state level and what you at the local level can do to assist in our efforts to put pressure on the Administration to "get it right" in their January budget proposal. 


Strength in numbers!

Dawn Koepke
CCAE Legislative Liaison




CAEAA Membership Brochure Available
Click here for Membership Brochure

CAEAA Board of Directors

President

Cyndi Parulan-Colfer

Hacienda La Puente Adult and Continuing Education

cpcolfer@hlpusd.k12.ca.us

 

Immediate Past Presidents

Cherise Moore, Ph.D.

CALPRO

cherise143@ymail.com

 

Dwayne Robinson, Retired

Oroville Adult Education

poppie.dr@gmail.com

 

Vice President/Membership

JoDee Guerard

Corona-Norco Adult School

jguerard@cnusd.k12.ca.us

 

Vice President/Legislation

Bob Harper, Ed. D.

Campbell Adult and Community Education

bharper@cuhsd.org

 

Vice President/Communications

Rocky Bettar

Rowland Adult and Community Education

rbettar@rowland.k12.ca.us

 

Treasurer

Veronica Montes

Culver City Adult School veronicamontes@ccsd.org

 

Secretary

Jodi Loeffler

Bakersfield Adult School

jodi_loeffler@khsd.k12.ca.us

 

Members at Large

Holda Dorsey, Retired

Hacienda La Puente Adult and Continuing Education

holdae@hotmail.com

 

Joanne Durkee

Mt. Diablo Adult and Career Education

durkeej@mdusd.k12.ca.us

 

Dan Garcia

Ford Park Adult School

Garcia_Dan@montebello.k12.ca.us

 

Nancy George

New Haven Adult School

ngeorge@nhusd.k12.ca.us

 

Burr Guthrie

Berkeley Adult School

Burrguthrie@berkeley.net